Too many books!

So, I made a book goal last year on Goodreads.com and failed to finish the 100 books that I’d aimed for. I didn’t fail by much but it was discouraging all the same. So, this year, I aimed a lot lower and decided to read 50 books.

36 of those books were specific titles that I had been piling up on my “to-be-read” list for years. I planned to fill out the rest of the list with fun books– you know, summer beach reads, YA novels, science fiction, fantasy . . . The Fun Stuff! The problem is, I got so excited about the books I was researching for my list that I went out and grabbed most of them from the library. I’ve been trying to catch up with my reading ever since.

Yesterday, I decided that I needed to read “The Hunger Games” since everyone besides me has read it, even my oldest daughter.  Our local library had a waiting list 42 people long! Luckily, Amazon has a book borrowing program for Kindle owners who also have Amazon Prime, so I was able to borrow it as my March book. No eternal wait on the hold list for me! 🙂

I’m sure the librarians are starting to hate me, since I put everything that I want on hold. I sincerely apologize to them all (Sorry, Waco librarians and assistants!) but when you’ve got two little boys with you, 2 and 5, you just don’t want to spend a lot of time looking through the stacks for that one last book on your list. I’m pretty sure the librarians don’t appreciate their screams and wails when I do drag them through the aisles while I look for something. If it was up to the boys, we’d sit in the children’s area and play with the puzzles and bead toy for hours. They’re much less enthusiastic about the grownup areas, for some odd reason.

I have definitely overextended myself on books, though. I have at least a dozen library books scattered through my bedroom and I’m trying to finish all of them. I don’t really want to stop reading any of them, so I keep renewing them and re-checking them and shuttling them back and forth from the library to my room. Several of them are political books that I picked out to read before the elections, a lot of them are books dealing with WWI and the period immediately preceding it, and some of them are just random nonfiction books that looked good on the shelf. And I want to read them all . . . .

I might have to postpone a few of them, though. Looking at it from the positive side of things, at least I will have checked the books out enough to raise their scores on Texas’s scoring method for deciding which library books stay and which get discarded!

About endurancemom

Writer of fantasy and historical fantasy fiction, mother of 6, former nurse, Catholic convert, wife of 25 years, and general all-around geek. Warning: Do not attempt this at home. View all posts by endurancemom

You must be logged in to post a comment.

