So far away from me . . .

According to Mapquest, we are over 1150 miles from Walt Disney World. That’s a long long way for a vacation, even if we don’t haul The Summer Home (aka our travel trailer) along behind us. Hubs and I had thought of making a quick trip there for our 20th anniversary, but it’s a daunting idea when gasoline is almost $4 a gallon. When we went there for our honeymoon, gas was about $1 a gallon. Oh, for those happy golden days of cheap fuel and inexpensive vacations . . . .

Almost 1200 miles away from this . . . .

 

The other problem, of course, would be choosing whether or not to go by ourselves or to take kids with us. We didn’t go alone on our honeymoon– my sister and my stepson both came along and made the trip the very closest to a living hell that they could manage. They made it close, I gotta say– I still have flashbacks of standing outside Thunder Mountain Railroad with E.T., weeping in frustration because he Would Not Go on any ride but the absolute mildest. (Okay, nowadays I can see that a 4 year old is pretty little to go on thrill rides, but I was 18 and considerably less well educated in the ways of children.)

I can’t imagine going by ourselves, though, not with The Ninja spending a considerable amount of his 5 year old life daydreaming about another trip to WDW. His fantasies of riding the best rides (Which would be Winnie The Pooh, the Carousel, and the Teacups), are probably eclipsed by his visions of THIS . . .

He still remembers that the pony was galloping . . .

 

The Fort Wilderness Campgrounds do, in fact, have pony rides. It is his eternal torment that he can’t go back and ride every day and that we simply didn’t load the pretty white pony up with us when we left (stuffing it somewhere between the couch and the kitchen, I guess) and solve his lack of pony problems all in one fell swoop. After all, he reasons, our backyard is plenty big enough for a pony.

Nope, I can’t see leaving him at home. I’d gleefully abandon all the teenagers on their own, just to get away from the pervasive angst and drama for a weekend, but the little boys are simply too sweet to leave behind. They’d be heartbroken.

Ah well, can’t afford it anyway. I think I shall go look for Disney sweepstakes to enter . . . .

About Marti Booker

Writer of fantasy and historical fantasy fiction, mother of 6, former nurse, Catholic convert, wife of 25 years, and general all-around geek. Warning: Do not attempt this at home. View all posts by Marti Booker

You must be logged in to post a comment.

