Life’s a happy song . . . .

Or so claim the Muppets. We rented it from Redbox last week and I managed to watch it before it was due, which is a major accomplishment around here.

I think the movie was a little too self-conscious. Most of the violations of the fourth wall seemed . . . well, just un-funny. It was aimed too high for the little boys, that’s for certain. The youngest only watched for a few minutes before wandering off, and the five year old wasn’t much better. The Muppets always did appeal to a slightly older audience than Sesame Street . . . but was it the best way to re-introduce kids to the Muppets? The show-within-a-show format just didn’t have enough craziness, enough jokes . . . kinda relied on us GenXers and the fact that we already loved the characters. I would have preferred that they just dropped the pretense and slammed some wocka wocka in our face, you know?

Or a few cream pies. Not a single cream pie was thrown. THAT is a huge oversight.

Anyway, I’ve been forced to take a break from writing over the past few days. Holy Week is always crazy, but I spent most of the weekend sick, just hanging on by a thread. Probably my biggest accomplishment over the past four days was buying and assembling the boys’s Easter buckets and making the hummingbird cake. Definitely wasn’t a productive weekend in terms of writing. I wish that I could write when I’m ill, but I just can’t. I’ll try to ease back into it tonight . . . I still have to do some serious repairs to the last scene I was writing. Most of those repairs will be the heavy use of the Delete key, alas. It’s definitely not working as-is.

Anyhow, no major news today and no thoughts beyond having some leftover ham for lunch. Sometimes, your priorities have to change . . . and my priority for the day is just to get well enough to continue my work.

About endurancemom

Writer of fantasy and historical fantasy fiction, mother of 6, former nurse, Catholic convert, wife of 25 years, and general all-around geek. Warning: Do not attempt this at home. View all posts by endurancemom

You must be logged in to post a comment.

