Blip

Somehow, I missed Tuesday.

It was one of those days that make you wonder if you’re going to make it through it or just run screaming out the front door. I did make it, but it was a close thing. There are certain tasks that one shouldn’t have to do in the wee hours of the morning. I will spare you the details.

Anyway, I made it to Wednesday and my official re-focusing on my novel re-write. The last chapter is going to need an extensive edit, something I just realized yesterday. That is why I’ve been taking it slow and not doing much actual work over the past two weeks. I want the ideas to percolate up from my subconscious. That’s the best way to figure things out, I’ve found. Once you let your mind work something over by itself, it usually comes up with a recognition of where the real problems are.

Or, another freaky dream that makes you wake up with your heart pounding, convinced that you’re about to die.

Either/or.

But there are still problems that need to be solved. I finally figured out why my next novel in progress wasn’t moving forwards– I was starting in the wrong place, with the wrong characters. They do appear, two or three chapters in, but the main action is several hundred miles away and seen through an entirely different character’s eyes. I need to begin there, with the MacGuffin in place and the main character firmly established. Once I do that, I can move the action to the city.

In the meantime, I need to get a pot of tea and some lunch . . . the heat index will be 110 here today, so going outdoors is not smart. Time to just sit back and do the writing. It’s not guaranteed to be good, but it has to be done.

About endurancemom

Writer of fantasy and historical fantasy fiction, mother of 6, former nurse, Catholic convert, wife of 25 years, and general all-around geek. Warning: Do not attempt this at home. View all posts by endurancemom

You must be logged in to post a comment.

