Deep in the Pits of Edit

Sounds sort of like a fantasy novel location, doesn’t it? The Pits of Edit? Add a random apostrophe and it’s Pits of Ed’i’t and it definitely could work as the location for some gratuitous torture scenes.

Anyhow, I’m 1/3 of the way through yet another edit on the novel, codename DV. I am properly ashamed of all the passive voice that I’ve somehow slipped into the work. Really, the amount of limp prose is disheartening.  I feel safe in congratulating myself that it is much better than the prose of several published authors I’ve read. And then I pat myself on the shoulder and assure myself that it’s not bad for a first novel. It’s a very multiple personality sort of job, you know?

I will not be writing much on the blogs until the edit is done. I am hoping to get it done SOON AND VERY SOON but, you know, life has a way of screwing up your plans. I want it to be as good as it is possible for this particular novel to be. Which means no “and then he fell asleep” endings or “and then he woke up” beginnings (except for the unconsciousness scene. That’s staying in there. Cue monster headache in 3, 2,1 .  . .)

Back to the Pits and the torments that the head torturer has devised for me . . . passive voice .  . NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!

 

About endurancemom

Writer of fantasy and historical fantasy fiction, mother of 6, former nurse, Catholic convert, wife of 25 years, and general all-around geek. Warning: Do not attempt this at home. View all posts by endurancemom

You must be logged in to post a comment.

