Beginning again

Okay, so I began work on another novel today.

500 words isn’t much, I know, but at least it’s a step in the right direction. I would have written more if the boys had been better-behaved, but having their older brother home sick from school really set them off. Brawls were fought, words were bandied, and scissors were brandished. I took the scissors away.

Anyhow, the new novel is a noir-ish thing, which makes it tricky. Hammett and Chandler both had a gift for saying the least amount possible, making it sound tough and elegant at the same time. I’m writing more of a post-noir noir, where the main character is twenty years beyond his hardcore days and vulnerable in ways that Sam Spade and Phillip Marlowe were not (kids, for one.)

I wrote this originally as a short story several months ago, but it didn’t work at the shorter length. I hope it works at novel length, but somehow I’ve got to get it there. 500 words a day will not do it as fast as I’d like.

So, it’s time to tweak the outline and see if I can add more detail to it. It’s immensely easier to write a scene once you’ve outlined it– more of a fill-in-the-gaps exercise than just dredging up raw material and trying to shape it at the same time.

I’d really like to move up to 2000 words per day. 5000 would be excellent but probably not realistic. If I could get the outline to reflect the pacing I need it to show, then . . . oh wait.

Oooooooooooooh . . . an idea.

A bloody gory and thoroughly detestable idea.

I love it already.

See you next week. I’ve got to write this down.

About Marti Booker

Writer of fantasy and historical fantasy fiction, mother of 6, former nurse, Catholic convert, wife of 25 years, and general all-around geek. Warning: Do not attempt this at home. View all posts by Marti Booker

You must be logged in to post a comment.

