Reading List 2012, a retrospective

It’s almost 2013, unless the Mayans were correct and we’re all going to go poof! It’s time to look back at my New Year resolutions from last year and figure out how I did and where I should go from here.

One of the things I resolved to do was to read 36 specific books. I haven’t done well on this list so far, only having finished 16 out of the 36. Since there’s only one month left in the year (plus change), I doubt I can finish all of them, so I have to decide which books I want to really finish and which ones get booted on to next year’s list.

Here’s the Top 100 titles that I intended to read. Books I have finished are BOLD.

 

1. The Naked and the Dead, Norman Mailer (I got about 1/3 through this. Good book, but hard going)

2. Pale Fire, Vladimir Nabokov 

3. The Maltese Falcon, Dashiell Hammett

4. Of Human Bondage, W. Somerset Maugham

5. A House for Mr Biswas, V.S. Naipaul

6. Angle of Repose, Wallace Stegner (I might not finish this one. YUCK.)

7. Ragtime, E.L. Doctorow

8. Parade’s End, Ford Madox Ford

9. The Call of the Wild, Jack London

10. A Farewell to Arms, Ernest Hemingway

11. The Bridge of San Luis Rey, Thornton Wilder

12. Tender is the Night, F. Scott Fitzgerald

 

The nonfiction titles that I planned on reading:

 

13. The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks, Rebecca Skloot

14. Jesus of Nazareth (Part Two, Holy Week), Pope Benedict XVI

15. Jesus and the Jewish Roots of the Eucharist, Brant Pitre

16. After America, Mark Steyn

17. A Heart for Freedom, Chai Ling

18. The Proud Tower, Barbara W. Tuchman

19. Witness to Hope, George Weigel

20. The Education of Henry Adams, Henry Adams

21. Slouching towards Bethlehem, Joan Didion

22. The Emperor, Ryszard Kapuscinski

23. The Forever War, Dexter Filkins

24. The Warmth of Other Suns, Isabel Wilkerson

 

Those books that I seem to have missed somehow, while everyone else loved them.

 

25. Jane Eyre, Charlotte Bronte

26. Great Expectations, Charles Dickens

27. The Wind in the Willows, Kenneth Grahame

28. The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night, Mark Haddon

29. Swallows and Amazons, Arthur Ransome

30. A Christmas Carol, Charles Dickens

31. Persuasion, Jane Austen

32. Moby Dick, Herman Melville

33. One Hundred Years of Solitude, Gabriel García Márquez

34. The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy, Douglas Adams

35. Memoirs of a Geisha, Arthur Golden

36. Life of Pi, Yann Martel

 

I think I’ll try to read about eight of them, leaving 12 for next year (or one a month). I think I will try to get through A Christmas Carol, Moby Dick, The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks, Of Human Bondage, Tender is the Night, The Wind in the Willows, Great Expectations, and The Education of Henry Adams. It’s a lot to read, but I need a challenge anyway. I’ve been slacking off.

The other unfinished business will have to wait for another day. Just looking at this list is daunting!

About endurancemom

Writer of fantasy and historical fantasy fiction, mother of 6, former nurse, Catholic convert, wife of 24 years, and general all-around geek. Warning: Do not attempt this at home. View all posts by endurancemom

You must be logged in to post a comment.

