Blogging vs Writing

I’ve started to wonder if my blogging is cutting into my writing energy.

One blog was fine. Two, however, seems to be pushing it. I haven’t worked seriously on a novel in the past two months, and while it’s natural to take a break after editing a book, it’s also not getting me anywhere, either.

So I’ve begun looking with grave suspicions at my blogs. Am I writing or am I writing about writing? Should I cut down on my blogging? Or should I try to force the issue, so to speak, by setting myself a hard writing deadline and sticking to it?

I’m leaning towards the latter. I think that writing 1000 words a day is reasonable, at least until I get back in the flow, so I will do that starting on December 1. If my blogging suffers, so be it. My fiction has to come first.

I enjoy blogging, mostly because I love to “talk”, but it’s not nearly as important to me as serious publication, either. I want to sell a novel and see it in print! That’s my goal, and I need to do everything in my power to make sure it happens.

Stick around, though. Scattershot isn’t going away. Like I said, I love to blab . . . and I will have to keep my blabbing outlet going!

About endurancemom

Writer of fantasy and historical fantasy fiction, mother of 6, former nurse, Catholic convert, wife of 25 years, and general all-around geek. Warning: Do not attempt this at home. View all posts by endurancemom

You must be logged in to post a comment.

