Christmas distractions

So yesterday began our annual “12 Days of Christmas Baking” tradition, wherein my older daughter and I turn a significant portion of our energy over to cookies and cleanup.

So far, we’ve taken it easy– caramel marshmallow popcorn on Wednesday and decorated powdered donuts (store bought) for today. Things step up tomorrow, though, with the addition of St. Lucia buns. That should be interesting, as I’m also going to be steaming up a huge pile of tamales. Yum.

So, writing is about the last thing on my mind. I’m still reading the Pulitzer winners and I picked up some good reference books about topics related to books I want to write. So I’m still thinking, I’m just not writing. At least, not until after Christmas.

In the meantime, I’ll be reading, watching movies, and baking. And trying to enjoy this Christmas as if it were my last. You never know. My dear friend Judy is not with us this year. It makes me wish I’d done more to make the holiday brighter for her. We only get one chance at life, though.

So live the holidays well. Peace.

About endurancemom

Writer of fantasy and historical fantasy fiction, mother of 6, former nurse, Catholic convert, wife of 25 years, and general all-around geek. Warning: Do not attempt this at home. View all posts by endurancemom

2 responses to “Christmas distractions

  • Terry Warren Southard

    So I take it you got a big steamer to do the tamales??? Yum. I think that is what we are having for supper tonight. We have a tamale sale fundraiser at our church all the way from Thanksgiving through Superbowl Sunday. They are good and I don’t have to make them. Double plus!

    • martibooker

      Yup, we picked up a steamer on Black Friday, HEB was having a sale. I’ve got the pork in the slow cooker, so whenever that’s done, then I’ll get busy making the sauce and softening the corn husks and all the rest. I wish we had a good source of tamales locally, but I’m not settling for the store-bought ones. They just don’t taste right!

You must be logged in to post a comment.

