New Year, same old resolution

It’s funny how the end of the year makes you really stop and re-assess your progress. On paper, my year doesn’t look so awful.

1 novel written, 3 picture books written, novel submitted to a contest, one of the picture books submitted to several agents.

Looks fairly productive, doesn’t it?

Only I know that I could have done much better if I had really stuck to my writing goals. I pretty much stopped my daily writing as soon as the novel was finished and I didn’t pick it back up again, no matter how much I told myself that I intended to.

So, my new year’s resolution is pretty stale and old: Write more!

It’s not exciting, it’s not thrilling, and all it promises me is at least an hour a day of generally frustrating time spent working. I have a lot of other things that I need to do this year, but getting back to work as a writer is something that I do mainly for myself. It’s certainly not a Get Rich Quick scheme. It’s not going to make me healthier or make my family happier. It’s something I do just to please myself, something that only really rewards me. And the rewards only come with that sense of accomplishment when something is finished or sold. Sooooo . . . some more goals:

I want to finish one more novel in 2013.

I want to write and publish one nonfiction e-book in 2013.

I want to sell at least 3 short stories in 2013.

I want to edit and polish my first novel again and find an agent for it.

I want to polish and edit my 3 picture books again and find an agent for them, too.

I want to write 3 more picture books.

Pretty ambitious, but not out of reach. I think that I can accomplish all of the writing goals. The goals of selling and getting an agent are less under my control, but definitely possible. I just have to keep working at it.

So, 2013 is going to be a busy year!

 

About endurancemom

Writer of fantasy and historical fantasy fiction, mother of 6, former nurse, Catholic convert, wife of 24 years, and general all-around geek. Warning: Do not attempt this at home. View all posts by endurancemom

2 responses to “New Year, same old resolution

You must be logged in to post a comment.

