Better and better

So, I stopped taking one of my long-term medications in January. I’d been on it for 3 years and it really didn’t help me with the problem that it was supposed to address. So, after consulting two doctors, I gradually weaned myself off of the stuff, hoping to at least be able to get rid of the (pretty horrible) side effects.

What followed was, essentially, six weeks in hell. I was very ill, living from one dose of Zofran (an anti-nausea drug) to the next. I wrote nothing, I couldn’t do any exercise, and I accomplished very little otherwise beyond catching up on some reading.

Now, however, I am finally well enough to be off of the Zofran. The crippling insomnia is also mostly gone, although my body seems to think that 4am is bedtime now. I’m going to have to fight my way back to a more normal bedtime, day by day, but at least I can fall asleep when I do try.

Yesterday, for the first time in two months, I was actually able to come up with some new story ideas and start creating notes for a short story. It’s nice to be able to think about something besides my own misery for once! 🙂

And, as a bonus, going off that medication seems to have reduced my heartburn (which was causing erosive damage to my esophagus) by about 90%! I didn’t expect that, but I am very grateful.

So I’m getting better, bit by bit. Now, to try actually writing again . . . scary! 🙂

About endurancemom

Writer of fantasy and historical fantasy fiction, mother of 6, former nurse, Catholic convert, wife of 24 years, and general all-around geek. Warning: Do not attempt this at home. View all posts by endurancemom

You must be logged in to post a comment.

