Jitters

So, I am having an MRI this week, to check the condition of my spine.

I had one seven or so months ago, and they found something of slight concern, so this is a follow-up to that, as well as an exploration of what might be causing my lower back pain.

No big whoop, in other words, but I am jittery and nervous as it draws closer. I am more than slightly claustrophobic, and being crammed into an MRI tube with your head in restraints is NOT my idea of a fun fun time. I’ve been trying to talk positively to myself about it, to be cheerful and look on the bright side, but somewhere inside me, there is a chattering squirrel of anxiety who is jumping from branch to branch and freaking out about this whole idea.

So far, I haven’t been able to shut up that particular rodent of thought. As much as I try to talk myself into it, I can’t quite escape my own illogical fears. So, I have a couple Valium prescribed by my doctor to try to at least get me through the process.

Problem is, I could sure use one NOW. 🙂

 

About endurancemom

Writer of fantasy and historical fantasy fiction, mother of 6, former nurse, Catholic convert, wife of 24 years, and general all-around geek. Warning: Do not attempt this at home. View all posts by endurancemom

You must be logged in to post a comment.

