Back at it– and taking lessons in humility

So, yeah, I’m taking Holly Lisle’s How to Think Sideways course in Flash Fiction. Because, well, why not? I haven’t written anything substantial in months and I meant to write ALL SORTS OF THINGS and yet, the time, it breezes past me so quickly that I’ve begun wondering if I’m actually moving backwards.

All of this writing downtime is doing one thing for me, though– it’s giving me time to go back and think through some of my more egregious mistakes and try to figure out ways around those kinds of mistakes. Things like my habit of hurrying things to submission before they’ve undergone real re-writes, and not getting any good feedback, and forgetting to read things through out loud. I’ve had a lot of time to work through a new picture book (in my head) although I haven’t written any of it down as yet. I have serious FEELS about this story, so I want it to be right before it hits the page in a serious way.

Anyway, what this means is that I will be writing again, even if it’s just “writing to learn” and not writing from passion. And maybe, just maybe, I’ll do a better job with the next story I write. I am getting sick of my own habit of rushing things to completion before the actual mental work of thinking it through has been done. I’m getting sick of not having some success, too. But you have to treat the illness before the symptoms get any better, so I will take my medicine and wait for the fever to break.

So to speak.

About endurancemom

Writer of fantasy and historical fantasy fiction, mother of 6, former nurse, Catholic convert, wife of 25 years, and general all-around geek. Warning: Do not attempt this at home. View all posts by endurancemom

You must be logged in to post a comment.

