Rain after drought . . .

So, yes, the rain has fallen and I’ve actually begun to write new stuff again. No, it’s not exactly what I planned on writing, but it’s . . . good. Different. It’s taking some of the conventions of the genre and up-ending them in a way that (I think) has some interesting ramifications.

In a way, it’s a departure both from “Harry Potter” and Lev Grossman’s “The Magicians”, steeped in science fiction, Star Wars, and hours and hours of actually dealing with children.

I’m excited about it.

But, I’m not going to spill it all out and waste that creative energy. I’m really happy to be writing again, though, and writing something with some meat to it. Flash fiction is all very well and good, but it’s hors d’oeuvres and not dinner. This is a lot more substantial fare.

Happy.

About endurancemom

Writer of fantasy and historical fantasy fiction, mother of 6, former nurse, Catholic convert, wife of 24 years, and general all-around geek. Warning: Do not attempt this at home. View all posts by endurancemom

You must be logged in to post a comment.

