Back from the Dead

Okay, so WordPress tells me that I haven’t updated this blog in 4 years. That’s not strictly true, it was June of 2013 when I decided to take a break from blogging about writing, and basically from writing itself.

What happened to keep me from going BACK to writing sooner than this, you ask? Well, it was a slightly unanticipated pregnancy that turned into a high risk nightmare, which turned into a baby in the NICU, which turned into me being somewhat obsessed with said baby for the past couple of years.

He’s 2 1/2 now and doing great. Half my kids are now legally adults. The other half are homeschooled, which has freed me from the logistical dramas of dealing with the public school system. (Night owls do not do well when their kids have to be on a school bus at 6:30 in the morning. Just saying.)

So, I find myself in the enviable position of having my “headspace” freed up enough that the urge to write is coming back and the stories are starting to nag at me to be finished. And writing Facebook posts is just not cutting it. I can tell them lots of stories about my kids and how badly my day went and what I cooked for dinner, but if I start rambling on about dragons or werewolves or literature or mythology, they look at me kinda funny. And I always have *something* to say about books or television or movies. Keeping it all inside is frustrating, although I have to admit that if I *had* liveblogged Season 6 of Game of Thrones, I may have gone mad trying to convey how much I hated about it.

Anyway. I’m back. . . . I’m bad. I’m nationwide. (hat tip ZZ Top.)

 

About endurancemom

Writer of fantasy and historical fantasy fiction, mother of 6, former nurse, Catholic convert, wife of 24 years, and general all-around geek. Warning: Do not attempt this at home. View all posts by endurancemom

Comments are disabled.

